top of page

My boogers are black

Something I noticed in Nepal, as my body adjusted to the time change, the air in Nepal, and the chaos of the city is that air pollution was a big deal. On every street you can find someone wearing a mask, the kind that resemble medical masks, but often they are colorful or black. Who wears a mask depends on the place in the city, the health of the person, and the overall smog level of the city. The masks are used as barriers against air pollution in the city. However, the air pollution is not from industrialized factories instead it's from construction throughout the city. The dust creates a haze over the entire city.

This means that when I blow my nose in Nepal, my boogers are black.


WHAT WE KNOW THUS FAR

#1 

To our knowledge, our work will result in the first empirical study that examines how history of conflict impacts natural disaster resilience.

 

#2

8 million individuals in Nepal have been impacted by the 2015 earthquake. 

 

#3

We have succeeded in creating a new variable, partnered with the Geological Sciences Department at Texas A&M University to better estimate earthquake intensity using magnitude and distance.

bottom of page